Hairdressers in China

I finally decided, after years of pondering, to get a perm. My hair has always been naturally poker straight. I’ve tried countless times to curl it for nights out to no avail.

Loads of chinese girls, and boys, get perms. They are very popular here. One of my 6 year old students has a wonderful perm!

So I thought I’d be in safe hands. As usual when i entered the hairdressers they all stopped and stared at me open mouthed. I’m probably the first foreigner they’ve ever seen. One of the hardships of being one of only a few foreigners in a city of a few million chinese people.

I let my boyfriend do the talking because even though he’s a foreigner, he’s Asian so him speaking Chinese doesn’t freak them out as much as me speaking chinese does.
So I showed the guy in charge of my hair a photo of what I wanted and then spent the next 3 1/2 hours sitting with cling film in my hair and weird heaters circling my head and making me feel just a little bit like Professor X.

After it was all over the guy in charge of my hair asked me to take photos with him so that he would have evidence that he styled a foreigners hair. I’m willing to bet my photo got circulated amongst the guys working there and if history repeats itself, my photo will be all over the shop.

Leave a Reply

