Daily prompt: Heroic

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/daily-prompt-hero/

 

I had two heroes in my life when I was a kid and even until now, they haven’t changed. 

Image

 

It might be cliche, but my mum and dad are my heroes, now more than ever. Growing up they were the ones I confided in, the ones who chased the monsters away in my nightmares, who looked after me when I was sick, who told me I could do anything I wanted to as long as I worked hard, who made me smile when I was sad, who gave me a warm, loving home full of love. They inspired me to work hard, to treat others with respect, to be curious, to be confident, to love and follow my dreams. Even when one of those dreams led me to the other side of the world.

Now, as an adult, my parents are still my heroes, and they always will be. Looking back, I realize how much time, love, effort and sacrifice they put into raising me. For that, I want to say this. Thank you. Those two words will never be enough for what you have given me over the years, there are no words that could ever be enough. Thank you for making me the person I am today. Thanks to you two, I know what having a loving, caring family is all about.

 

Once again, even though the words are not enough. Thank you.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudia H. Blanton
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 14:29:03

    sounds like you had really wonderful parents – good for you!
    http://mylittleavalon.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/the-portal-a-friday-flash-fantasy/

    Reply

  2. mauveone2014
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 14:42:22

    Hi, I have seen a couple of your daily prompts, I really liked what you have written. What intrigued me even more – you are a Scottish girl living in China! What an experience.You had some lovely photo’s to look at too! Thank you.

    Reply

  3. FIONA BILLINGHAM
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 16:17:14

    Laura. You are an amazing young woman and I am so proud to call you my daughter and my friend. Thank you for being an inspiration, not only to me but others. Your Dad and I are so proud of you. Keep being the wonderful girl you have always been. You gave me more than I ever gave you. Love you. Mum x x

    Reply

  4. carin guseilo
    Jan 11, 2014 @ 02:33:14

    i love this and your parents. we need to have a party in scotland together because i already feel part of the family xxxxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

