My two families

We’ve all heard the expression, “A home away from home”, well I have “A family away from family”.

Back home I have my wonderful parents, my Aunt and Uncle who are more like another mum and dad, then I have my cousins who are more like my brother and sister. My family may be small, but I wouldn’t change them for the world. When I made the choice to move to China, I knew I was going to miss them a lot, I still do even after all this time.

However, I was lucky. When I came to China, I found my family away from family. The city I first arrived in when I came to China was considered a small city by Chinese standards and the foreign community was tiny. That tiny community of foreigners became my second family. 

A close bond connects all the foreigners in a situation like this. The people who have been there the longest take the newbies under their wings and show them how to adjust to life in a place that’s nothing like home. I can only describe the feeling of waking up on my first morning in China and feeling like Dorothy when she found herself in the world of Oompa Loompas and colour. 

I was so lucky that the people I worked with were some of the kindest and friendliest people I’ve ever met. After a while, you start to subconsciously think of this group of people, who were strangers just a short time ago, as your family. Even if you come from different countries, races, ethnic backgrounds, religions, it all doesn’t matter, the same way it doesn’t matter with your own family. 

The sad part of this however, is that your family here isn’t always permanent. Sometimes people go home, go to a different city or country and it is really a sad experience having to say goodbye.

But on a lighter note, with the bonds that are forged with your second family when you’re abroad, can usually withstand distance and time. Just like your actually family, you have bonds that are hard to break. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. candilicious
    Jan 19, 2014 @ 06:15:56

    So true..People must be truly lucky to have such an experience 🙂

    Reply

  2. Alan
    Jan 19, 2014 @ 12:01:21

    Sometimes nice things just work out ? When your family understands you as a friend, and your friends support you as your family, that makes me smile. Family is not a thing, its everything. Dad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

